Art Prints, Turkish Towels & More Home Decor

The Off You Go Paper Co. shop has some new items on the menu!

In addition to our colourful Print Shop, we now have Home Decor Shop.  I’ll be adding items to this sections slowly, as I discover the perfect, colourful, high quality, fantastically designed items that I can support and be proud to sell.   In the meanwhile, our inventory is limited but awesome. I am so excited to selling these amazing Turkish towels.

illusion 4You know that thing that you find when you travel that you absolutely fall in love with and then can’t find it when you get back home? Well, for me that thing I found is Turkish Towels. I first discovered them while traveling in the south of France, where they are common, and for good reason.  We were guests at a lux private club buried in the hills behind Aix.  While lounging on the grassy poolside we noticed that every person there (aside from ourselves) was using one of these beautiful towels.  I immediately fell in love with the aesthetic, and later with the functionality.

Turkish towels, or peshtemals,  are extra-large (70″x40″), 100% cotton towels. They’re light weight, quick to dry, easy to wash, and very versatile. In Europe they are used as towels for home, beach and pool, throws, wraps, and even tied as a sarong when the event calls for it.  Turkish towels traditionally feature a striped pattern woven into neutral ecru shades.  Today they are available in a vast array of patterns and colours.  I bought three towels at a market in Aix-en-Provence and two more in Paris.  Not all towels are created equal, of course, the towels bought in Aix have survived years of frequent washes and use at chlorine pools, but the Paris variety did not hold up so well.  Even still, after  using them for several months, found myself wishing I had bought a lifetime supply.

towels1

I began to search for them in Vancouver only to find that they were very hard to come by, and when I did find them, they were very expensive (I’m not OK with paying $100 for a towel!)  I can be quite determined when I want something, so I sourced the towels from Turkey, tested several makers products to see if they met the quality of those I found in Aix, and am pleased to have finally found a product that fits the bill.  I’ve imported them for sale in the shop (at a much more reasonable $35 CAD). These towels are excellent for the home and great for travel.  They look beautiful and are incredibly durable, believe me, I gave them a good run through! I snapped this image at Kits pool this summer…mid-point quality test! IMG_6770

A few testing discoveries:

  1. They don’t collect sand! (YAY)  Unlike a terry towel, the fibers do not retain sand, one shake and the sand stays with the surf, not in your car or beach bag
  2. They dry fast and don’t get too heavy when they are wet,
  3. They roll up very small to fit in a pack ( I could easily fit three in my shoulder bag & still had room for snacks for the kids)
  4. The cotton becomes softer and more absorbent with each wash.
  5. They are large enough to wrap around your body for private poolside changing (a skill I learned from the French mamas)

The Off You Go decor shop carries Turkish towels in an array of fun and modern colours as well as the traditional three stripe pattern that’s popular with the luxury spa crowd.  We’ve added hand towels, bath mats and these fantastic robes too:

antiochia_bornoz-010

In the near future, I plan to add more home decor items, but they have to be things that I am madly deeply, head-over-heals, in favour of.  So I am going to take my time, and do it right.  Have a peek at the selection & let me know what colour is your favourite in the comments.

Cheers,

Britt

Leave a Reply

